Scripps Research
Doctoral Program in Chemical and Biological Sciences
La Jolla, California and Jupiter, Florida, United States
The Fall 2027 entry season
- Deadline
- Usual reply date, Apr 15
- Today
- Deadline
- Usual reply date, Apr 15
- Today
Requirements and funding
- GRE
- Optional
- English tests
- TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo is required for international applicants; minimum scores are not stated. Scores must be within three years of the deadline. Exemptions exist for study in the US, UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand or Canada (outside Quebec).
- Application fee
- $100. Fee waivers available. Waivers are available for financial need or hardship; add up to one page explaining it in the application.
- Recommendation letters
- 3
- Also needed
-
- Statement of purpose
- Transcripts (unofficial PDFs for applying)
- WES course-by-course evaluation, highly recommended for degrees from outside the US
- Funding
- Funding for international students not stated. Stipend $45,760 a year (2025-26). Support covers tuition, health insurance and a stipend, provided by Scripps Research, the student's advisor and national fellowships. The 2025-26 stipend is $45,760 in California and $43,680 in Florida.
- International applicants
- Accepted. The page warns that US travel bans or visa suspensions may affect some applicants and suggests checking before paying the fee.
- Interviews
- Not stated on official pages
- Decisions
- Not stated on official pages
Where this comes from
Checked against official pages on Oct 17, 2026. Programs change details, so always confirm on the program's own site before you apply.
- Scripps Research: How to Apply (checked Oct 17)
- Scripps Research: Financial Support (checked Oct 17)
Spotted something wrong or out of date? Tell us.